Location

Cameroon – a mosaic of African Cultures

According to Bruneau, “Cameroon is the Africa of the jungle and that of the savannah; the Africa of the Moslems, Christians and Animists; French-speaking, English-speaking, yes, even Arabic-speaking Africa.”

Cameroon lies in central Africa and borders Nigeria, Chad, the Central African Republic, the Republic of Congo, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea. At 475 000 square kilometers, Cameroon is 1.3 times Germany’s size.

Yaoundé, the country’s capital city, has 1 800 000 inhabitants.  Over 50 percent of the country’s population is under 20 years of age. The “average Cameroonian” is just about 18 years old. The official languages in Cameroon are French and English. In addition, there are circa 230 local languages. This linguistic variety reflects Cameroon’s ethnic wealth, where diverse cultures, ways of life, languages and religions have been living together harmoniously for over 50 years.

The French geographer Jean-Claude Bruneau called Cameroon “Africa in miniature”. Geographically belonging to central Africa, the country nevertheless is a connection between the two large geographical areas of West and Central Africa in terms of its flora, fauna, populations and cultures. The Peuls in the North of the country attest to the pre-colonial connections between west and central Africa.

To see Cameroon is to experience Africa’s diversity. It is a country of variety, which has managed to retain its traditional structures while at the same time embracing the rise of modernity.

Having visited Cameroon is to experience Africa’s diversity. It is a country of variety, which has managed to retain its traditional structures while at the same time embracing the rise of modernity. The Fulani clarify in the north that there is still a historical and cultural continuity between West Africa and Central Africa outside borders born before the colonial period.

The relief in Cameroon is divided into a geographically coastal region with more or less space, which extends from separated layers until the plateau of Southern Cameroon. In western of the country rises a volcanic mountain, which next spreads itself in the north of the Mounts Mandaras. The semi-arid north crosses the undulating savannah of Adamaoua. In this region, which borders the west on the greenery of the high Mounts Mandaras, there are numerous wildlife reserves and minerals. The Benue River, which throws itself to Niger in the Mounts Mandaras, flows westward. Waterfalls up to 2000m of forested volcanic peaks are located in the northwest. On the coast there are agricultural mangroves, behind which rises a wide belt of forest to the savannah Highlands.
Cameroon has several large dams, whose task is on the one hand in regulating the water levels of the Sanaga River and Benue for power generation; on the other hand, they are mainly used in the northern as water reservoirs for irrigation and drinking water.

Landscapes and climate


Cameroon climate is tropical, with shares in equatorial climate and tropical climate change. Thereto are altitudes, which peak on Mount Cameroon into the alpine zone. A more sophisticated climate classification results for Cameroon an area of tropical rainforest always damp climate in the south (dry season 0-2 months) over summer a damp savannah climate in the centre (dry season 3-5 months) to the tropical dry savannah climate in the north (dry season 5-8 months). In addition there are extreme climatic sites such as the west region of Mount Cameroon that is with enormous rain quantities of more than 11000mm/year, among the richest precipitations zones of the world. The local climate conditions depend on geographic width, distance to sea and altitude.




News:

20.09.2010
Project initiative German School Yaoundé opens up a new Office in Berlin. more

09.08.2010
Cameroonian ambassador welcomes booster club of the “German School Yaoundé” in Berlinmore

29.06.2010
Develop potential – shape the future. New logo for the booster club “German school Yaoundé”more

Follow us on:

Newsletter

Please register for the Newsletter here and stay updated

Standort

Kamerun – ein Mosaik afrikanischer Kulturen

"Kamerun erscheint wie eine Kreuzung, an der sich der ganze schwarze Kontinent ein Stell dich ein zu geben scheint: das Afrika des Regenwalds und das der Savanne; das Afrika der Bantu- und der Sudanvölker; das Afrika der Moslems, der Christen und der Animisten; das französisch sprechende, das englischs prechende, ja sogar das arabisch sprechende Afrika." (Jean-Claude Bruneau)

Kamerun liegt in Zentralafrika und grenzt an Nigeria, den Tschad, die Zentralafrikanische Republik, die Republik Kongo, Gabun und Äquatorialguinea. Kamerun ist mit einer Fläche von über 475.000 qkm 1,3 mal so groß wie Deutschland.

Die Hauptstadt Kameruns ist Jaunde mit rund 1.800.000 Einwohnern. Der Anteil der unter 20-jährigen an der Gesamtbevölkerung beträgt über 50 Prozent. Der „Durchschnittskameruner“ ist somit knapp über 18 Jahre alt. Die Amtssprachen sind Französisch und Englisch. Außerdem gibt es ca. 230 lokale Sprachen, da in Kamerun viele unterschiedliche Stämme leben. In diesem vielfältigen Land treffen unterschiedlichste Kulturen, Lebensformen, Sprachen und Religionen aufeinander, die schon mehr als 50 Jahre harmonisch miteinander leben.

"Afrika im Kleinen", so bezeichnete der französische Geograph Jean-Claude Bruneau Kamerun. Geographisch zu Zentralafrika zählend, ist das Land doch vielmehr ein Bindeglied zwischen den beiden geographischen Großregionen West- und Zentralafrika, was sich in Flora, Fauna, Bevölkerung und Kultur widerspiegelt.

Kamerun besichtigt zu haben, heißt die Vielfalt Afrikas auf einen Blick eingefangen zu haben. Es ist das Land der Vielfalt, das auch mit dem Aufkommen der Moderne seine traditionellen Strukturen bewahrt hat. Die Peuls im Norden verdeutlichen, dass es außerhalb der vor der Kolonialzeit entstandenen Grenzen immer noch eine historische und kulturelle Kontinuität zwischen West- und Zentralafrika gibt.

Das Relief Kameruns gliedert sich in eine räumlich mehr oder weniger ausgeprägte, flache Küstenregion, die sich in einzelnen Schichtstufen zum Südkamerunplateau zieht. Im Westen des Landes erhebt sich ein vulkanisches Bergland, dessen Ausläufer bis in die nördlichen Mandaraberge reichen. Die Halbwüste im Norden geht in die hügelige Adamaoua-Savanne über. In dieser Region, die im Westen an die üppig-grünen Mandaraberge grenzt, gibt es zahlreiche Tierschutzgebiete und Mineralvorkommen. In den Mandarabergen entspringt der Fluss Benue, der im Westen in den Niger mündet. Wasserfälle und bis zu 2000 m hohe Vulkangipfel, die mit Bambus bewachsen sind, befinden sich im Nordwesten. An der landwirtschaftlich genutzten Küste gibt es Mangrovensümpfe, hinter denen ein breiter Waldgürtel zum Savannenhochland ansteigt.

Kamerun verfügt über viele große Stauseen, deren Aufgabe zum einen in der Regulierung der Wasserstände von Sanaga und Benoué für die Elektrizitätsgewinnung liegt, zum anderen dienen sie vor allem im Norden als Wasserreservoirs für Bewässerungsprojekte und die Trinkwasserversorgung.

Landschaftsräume und Klima

Kameruns Klima ist tropisch, mit Anteilen an Äquatorialklima und tropischem Wechselklima. Hinzu kommen die Höhenstufen, die am Kamerunberg bis in die alpine Stufe reichen. Eine differenziertere Klimaklassifikation ergibt für Kamerun einen Bereich, der von immerfeuchtem tropischem Regenwaldklima im Süden (Trockenzeit 0-2 Monate) über sommerfeuchtes Savannenklima im Zentrum (Trockenzeit 3-5 Monate) bis zum tropischen Trockensavannenklima im Norden (Trockenzeit 5-8 Monate) reicht. Darüber hinaus gibt es klimatische Extremstandorte wie die Region westlich des Kamerunbergs, die mit enormen Regenmengen von über 11 000mm/Jahr zu den niederschlagsreichsten Gebieten der Welt zählt. Die lokalen Klimabedingungen sind von geographischer Breite, der Entfernung zum Meer und der Höhenlage abhängig.

Neuigkeiten:

15.01.2014
Ein ereignisreiches Jahr 2013 ist für die Bildungsinitiative Deutsche Schule Jaunde erfolgreich zu Ende gegangen.Mehr

15.10.2013
Erfolgreicher Start für das Sprachlernzentrum der Deutsche Schule Jaunde am 01. Oktober 2013.Mehr

15.09.2013
Erfolgreicher Start für den Kindergarten der Deutsche Schule Jaunde (DSJ) am 09. September 2013.Mehr

Folgen Sie uns auch hier:

Newsletter

Registrieren Sie sich hier für den Newsletter und bleiben so immer auf dem Laufenden.